Isolated horizons and near horizon geometries, loop quantum gravity,
CR structures and spacetimes, Einstein equations and the twistor equation

Conference on the occasion of Jerzy Lewandowski's 60th birthday (Jurekfest)

September 16-20, 2019
Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland

photo by Jing Li 


Invited speakers:

(Titles link to slides of the talks in PDF format, opening in the same browser's tab.
Film icons link to video recordings of talks stored on youtube, and opening in the new browser's tab.)

Robert Alicki - Superradiance of quantum fields: From dry friction to black hole radiation  
Abhay Ashtekar - Compact binary coalescences and the BMS group  
Mehdi Assanioussi - Graph coherent states in loop quantum gravity  
Benjamin Bahr - Operator spin foam models: coarse graining and entanglement entropy  
Fernando Barbero - The geometric exegesis of the Dirac algorithm  
Ingemar Bengtsson - A discrete structure in Hilbert space  
Norbert Bodendorfer - Renormalisation in LQC with SU(1,1) techniques  
Piotr Chruściel - Positivity of energy for asymptotically hyperbolic manifolds  
Andrea Dapor - Effective dynamics of loop quantum gravity: Bouncing black holes and gravitational phonons  
Denis Dobkowski-Ryłko - Isolated horizons, near horizon geometries and the Petrov type D equation  
Maciej Dunajski - Conformally isometric embeddings and Hawking temperature  
Jonathan Engle - Uniqueness of kinematics and minimal dynamics in loop quantum cosmology  
Christian Fleischhack - Uniqueness  
Kristina Giesel - Reduced loop quantum gravity with scalar fields
Joshua Goldberg - Memoir
Jacek Jezierski - Geometry of null hypersurfaces  
Jerzy Jurkiewicz - Definition of holonomies in the model of causal dynamical triangulations  
Jerzy Kijowski - Essence of gravity theory and Einstein's attempts to unify it with electromagnetism  
Marcin Kisielowski - On the relation between loop quantum gravity and spin-foam models  
John Klauder - The real quantum gravity  
Mikołaj Korzyński - Weighing the spacetime along the line of sight  
Ryszard P. Kostecki - Geometrisation of quantum theory beyond pure states and Hilbert spaces  
Jerzy Kowalski-Glikman - Semiclassical quantum gravity and quantum deformed effective theories  
Zygmunt Lalak - Opening
Felipe Leitner - About the Kohn-Dirac operator on CR manifolds  
Chun-Yen Lin - Elementary relational observables with quantum reference frames  
Jorma Louko - Second law protection theorem for Lorentz-violating black holes  
Yongge Ma - Isolated horizon entropy in loop quantum gravity  
Edward Malec - Stationary tori in general-relativistic hydrodynamics: recent developments, their applications, open questions
Lionel Mason - Gravitational scattering on plane waves and the double copy  
Guillermo Mena Marugán - Primordial fluctuations in loop quantum cosmology  
José Mourão - Non-uniqueness of quantization, complex time evolution and generalized coherent state transforms  
Ezra T. Newman - Standard classical mechanics sitting in standard classical GR  
Paweł Nurowski - Twistor geometry of rolling bodies  
Tomasz Pawłowski - On the dynamics of loop quantum universe  
Sir Roger Penrose - The palatial twistor approach to Einstein lambda vacuums  
Jorge Pullin - Recent results in spherically symmetric loop quantum gravity  
Carlo Rovelli - Dark matter from quantum gravity  
Hanno Sahlmann - Walking in Jurek's garden  
George A.J. Sparling - The interplay of symplectic and projective geometry in the context of plane wave spacetimes  
Simone Speziale - The asymptotic analysis of the lorentzian KKL vertex of arbitrary valence  
Jacek Tafel - The Penrose inequality for the perturbed Schwarzschild initial data  
Thomas Thiemann - Quantum cosmological backreactions


Krzysztof Andrzejewski - Charges of conformal symmetries and their applications in plane gravitational waves
Paweł Ciosmak - Super quantum Airy structures
Maciej Kolanowski - (Anti-)evaporation of Schwarzschild-de Sitter black holes revisited
Colin MacLaurin - Cosmic cable
Lukáš Polcar - Lie series method in a perturbed black hole spacetime
Carlos I. Pérez-Sánchez - Schwinger-Dyson equations of tensor field theory as Tutte-like equations in dimension 3


Conference poster:

Ready-to-print version (A2 size in PNG file).

Schedule and programme:

Full programme in PDF (including the book of abstracts).

Monday 16.09 Tuesday 17.09 Wednesday 18.09 Thursday 19.09 Friday 20.09
8:30-8:45 Registration

ThiemannQuantum cosmological backreactions
10:20-10:50 Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break
MalecStationary tori in general-relativistic hydrodynamics: recent developments, their applications, open questions
12:10-14:00 Lunch Break Lunch Break Lunch Break Lunch Break Lunch Break
BengtssonA discrete structure in Hilbert space
KijowskiEssence of gravity theory and Einstein's attempts to unify it with electromagnetism
15:20-15:50 Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break
Kowalski-GlikmanSemiclassical quantum gravity and quantum deformed effective theories


Conference venue:

room #0.06, Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw
address: Pasteura 5 street, Warszawa, Poland.

Organising committee:

Denis Dobkowski-Ryłko (denis.dobkowski-rylko at
Wojciech Kamiński (wkaminsk at
Ryszard Paweł Kostecki (kostecki at
Andrzej Okołów (oko at
Adam Szereszewski (aszer at

Organising institution:

Financial support:

last update of this page: March 3, 2020; 14:15 CET.